Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks)

encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support

your opinion.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative effects of grades on students. If I were forced to chose, I would definitely raise my voice for those grades discourage the students to learn. It is my firm belief that grades influenced the students to other ways for a number of reasons. I will develop my ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, grades discourage the students to learn any subject with heart and soul. To get the better grade students read only specific things which give them better marks. If the students have no attraction to the marks, they learn the subject as an exciting assignment. They study their lesson like thesis. I have to admit my opinion on these matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal example. I remember when I read in university I wanted to complete my project work on nano medicine. At first, I wanted to complete it only for good grade. But that way I could not solve that problem. But when with the influenced of my project teacher I studied minutely to understand the main theme of this project. After years of studied, I finally completed my project. For this reason, I understood that students should study not for grade but for knowing the basic thing of the subject.

Secondly, why I illustrate my specific thought is that only styding for grade students cannot experience the new knowledge. They only study in classical way to find better grade. But the practical experience never be understood by them. So they cannot do better in their job life. My personal example is a compelling illustration of this. My friend once told me a story about himself. He was very interested in teaching profession, because in USA public school teacher found huge vacations and benefits. But when he entered into the classroom in his first day, he completely exhausted to maintained the students and their lessons. He had to prepare the study material for every class which was also very difficult for him. One reason of these, he had very little knowledge about practical life. Side by side as he only studied for better grade, he could not give proper explanation of the student’s question. So he left the job. So we should influence student not study for grade.

To sum up, in light of above reasons I strongly believe that student should not be encouraged to study for better grade. This is because it discourages students to study minutely and the students cannot do better in their job life.