The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Firstly, both the proponents and opponents of the Maple County council’s proposed measure considers the aftermath of such measures adopted by other counties many years ago. Past situations may not be sufficient to prepare for existing issues. Chestnut County’s modest increase in housing prices may be due to other factors like demography. If the population decreases, then the need for housing is automatically going to decrease. Pine county’s restrictions may have occurred during a time when there was a huge demand for residential areas. The argument can be strengthened by divulging demographic statistics before 15 years in Pine County and before 10 years in Chestnut County.

And real-estate prices are directly influenced by its locality. If Maple County is based near a downtown area, then the pricing in its housing is likely to increase regardless of the measure the County tries to adopt in order to tackle over-development. On the other hand, if the County is based near a newly developing residential area, a decrease in demand for housing can be predicted. In such cases, the proposed measure to prevent development of Maple County can succeed. The council of the Maple County can gain more insights into the aftermath of their measure, by knowing more about the location of the Maple County.

In addition, the economy of a particular County determines the housing prices at a given time. Even if constraints are placed on the development of the county, resulting in the soaring of housing prices, affluent residents will not be affected by the problem. And if the per-capita income of the Maple County is high, then, there will not occur any significant changes after the increase in housing prices. The economy of the Maple County has to be understood to predict the results corresponding to an increase in housing prices.

On summing up the above flaws of the argument, it is difficult to evaluate the prediction of the proposed measure of the Maple County in order to tackle over development. More statistics and data can be sufficient in order to predict the effect of the proposed measure.