Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only.

In the modern era, while technology is highly advanced and access to learning materials is easier than ever, there is a serious debate on putting the focus on only one skill or learning various skills in the learning process. In my perspective, I believe that putting all heart and soul into one and only subject is more advantageous and I will support my reasons in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the educational system is advanced enough around the world to provide everyone with adequate and basic knowledge about different topics that can help them to have enough efficiency in various fields of their daily life. For instance, everyone is obligated to finish high school in modern countries, and basic mathematics, biology, and art are tough in that period, providing everyone with fundamental levels of science in different fields. So they can easily do calculations for their daily activities or draw a simple stick figure for their children. In the competitive job market, the more you are professional, the more you are desirable. Therefore people have to go deeper in just one field by going to college and choosing a major. As time passes, they will learn deeper and become well-rounded individuals in that area, while if they had not chosen a specific major in college their knowledge would be shallow that could not help them to be professionals in one specific major.

Second, when people focus on only one subject, they will learn it comprehensively without missing any hidden points. Comparing past doctors to modern ones, they used to read many books in various fields including astrology, biology, and medicine in order to cure patients, while, in the contemporary era, medical students are obligated to study medicine focusing on human diseases, anatomy and the detrimental factors that can affect them. As it is obvious, the treatment process is not only faster these days but it's is more efficient which leads to a significant decrease in the mortality rate in the communities.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it's better for individuals, to focus on only one skill. This is because it not only helps society to nourish professional workforce but also them to learn the knowledge more comprehensively and deeper which lead s to more intact and flawless actions.