Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “A person should never make an important decision alone”. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people think that you should never make a vital decision alone while others think that it’s better to make a decision alone after a long consideration. Personally speaking, I believe that people should come to an important decision very carefully because a wrong step could change your life to a bad way and then you would regret it later. Therefore you need other people to help you do this like friends, people with particular knowledge, and family members.

First of all, taking friend’s advice on a situation is very helpful because friends never give a bad advice. Moreover, on the contrary they can be supportive, reliable to each other when they face some difficulties in life and get upset. I will give you an example of my own experience. I have a friend and two years ago we were the members of the college’s soccer team. Our team was participating in a very big and important competition among other college teams. We demonstrated ourselves very well on the tournament and reached the final. But in the final match we lost to our opponents by a goal. I was so upset and frustrated with this losing that I decided to give up playing football and leave my team. However, my best friend came to the rescue, supported me and convinced me not to leave the team. He consoled me and said that it wasn’t the end of the world, we would participate in other competitions and we could win more important contests and I should move on and let it go. After these supportive words I decided to stay with team.

Second, people with particular knowledge like counselors and teachers are also can help you to handle your problem. When I was at college, I had to decide which major to choose. I talked to the college counselor who has certain knowledge and expertise to figure out which major is suitable for me. We had a productive conversation about my future, my interests, my past, and my hobbies and then conducted several psychological tests and determined my interests like desire to math. Then he suggested me to major in accounting. This counseling was my first experience and I’m happy that I overcome these difficulties in deciding my major.

Finally, taking an advice from parents and older brothers is also a great idea because he/she lived much longer than you and has particular life experience. Several months ago I was thinking about studying overseas and I needed some information about it because I was unsure about my thoughts. So I asked my older brother who has been studying in the US for 4 years about it. He shared his experience with me, told me the pros and cons of studying abroad, and requirements to study abroad. After hearing his experiences, I decided it would be a great experience for me too. Now I’m studying really hard to get higher points on my test and achieve my goals.

All in all, when you are faced with an important decision, you should ask your friends, family members, and people with particular knowledge for help and advice because they can support you, direct to a right direction, and share their experience.