Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As the unremitting development of the modern society, the use of internet has been popularized through the efforts that our government have been dedicated. There is no denying that each individual has the right to access internet, but, recently, there is a heated debate regarding whether government should offer internet access to all of their citizens with no cost. From my own perspective, I completely protest this statement, and here are some reasons to consolidate my points of view.

The pay for internet is a great revenue for government. It has been well-acknowledged that people need money to survive, with no exceptions of individual who is paying contributions to the government, and it is rational that people should pay for the internet access which is being provided by the government. Governments can regard the income of internet access as part of their salaries, which can assist each governmental staff to live. Besides, nowadays, with the explosion of the prize of essentials, people need more money in order to make a position which is belonging to themselves in the society, thus paying for the access which is provided by the government is rational and needed. With a foundation of a statistical research conducted by NYU, we can conclude that the revenue of access of internet has been taken 70% of each governmental staff’s entire salary, meaning that the income of internet is of paramount importance for a governmental staff’s living.

If government offer access of internet to the masses with no cost, there will be a high rate of internet crimes. When government provide internet access towards each individual with no costs, the user will go alone with the idea that they can do everything through using the internet, conversely, when government ask masses to purchase the access of using internet, the masses will reckon that since they have paid for the internet, they cannot do anything that violate the laws, for the reason is that as soon as they do something that breaks the laws on the internet, the government will detect their bad behavior at the very first time, and the government will definitely punish the users who has done something improper and ban their right to use the internet. Besides, since the access of internet are supposed to be paid for, the masses will not commit a crime easily, and they will consider every movement when they are using the internet completely, thus preventing crime being committed. In comparison, if the government offer the masses the access of using the internet with no cost, they will do everything they want without considerations. For instance, in my country, the government has released laws that people ought to pay for the access of internet, and as time flies by, the crime rate of internet is decreasing, which endorses the idea of letting the masses pay for the access of internet is effective.

Paying for the access of the internet is necessary, which can bring a series of benefits that everyone can benefit from, and based on my above statements, I exceeding reckon access of internet which is being provided by the government are not supposed to be free.