Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have differing views with regard to both the significance of the internet and the idea that governments should provide it free. While some people hold the idea that internet services are like other public services and states must offer them at no cost, In my oopinion offering free internet is not applicable, and I disagree with this assertion.

The first reason is that having the internet access is most important just like other public services. Obviously, a well-developed country must meet all changing needs of its residents. In this term, progress in various areas such as transport network, healthcare, education system, and security is just a reflection of development of that country. Internet access, in this technological development era, plays a vital role in this notion. For example, people by internet accessibility, can access information ranging from global news to online cources in all over the world. As a result, a well-made public services can help countries to derive their goals successfully.

The second reason is that all public services rely on state subsidies to keep working. This means that resident populations already pay money to these services through the tax system. While Some of these public services such as roads, also, receive tolls from travellers to support themselves, there are other services, the police or fire brigades, for example, that people do not use them in their lives at all but pay for them through tax system. However, I believe that providing internet at no cost is shortsighted view because states need to cover runing costs including employees' wages, payment for building, utilities and so forth just like other services mentioned above. On the top of these costs, governments have to invest in innovation and improvement if the(y) wish to remain successful. Finally, providing internet access for residents needs money, and people should have a positive contribution to support states in this matter.

In conclusion, it is clear that internet access is as significant as other public services, I believe that providing it at no cost is not practical.