Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is undeniable that the internet play a vital role in the society. In my opinion, I believe the governments should offer free internet access to their citizens. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost government can generate revenues for the country giving the citizens access to the internet at no cost. Obviously, by given the citizens free access to the net, more companies or firms will be attracted to advertise their products online. The government can tax these companies and the money generated can be added to the total revenue of the country. Moreover, this money can be use to improve the country by building roads, schools and industries which will help to create job for the inhabitants. My opinion on this matter is greatly influenced by my own personal experience. In the year 2019, the government of Nigeria decided to improve the use of internet in Nigeria, to encourage both private and public company to advertise their goods online. This greatly increased the number of internet users in the country and also, more people started to advertise their goods online. The money gotten from taxing those companies were added to the revenues gotten from other sources. Part of the money was used in building industries, which reduced the rate of unemployment in the country. This example clearly shows why governments should give their citizens free access to the internet.

Secondly, providing the native people with free access to the internet can improve the literacy of the people of the nation. Most importantly, the people that can't afford school tuition fees can learn on their own and in their own free time.For example, several years ago before the advent of the internet, many people in Nigeria couldn't afford the school fees and limited the spread of education in the country. Only the people from elite class can attend school because of the price. The rate of illiteracy was at its peak. When the internet was introduced in the country, the literacy rates increased tremendously, because people can now learn anything they want to learn online. Furthermore, the citizens can now fix what they want to learn at their own free time and pace. The number of educated citizens has been increasing since then. Had it not been for the free access to internet offered to the citizens by the government, the number of lettered individuals in the nation would still be low.

In conclusion, I believe governments should make sure the internet is available to all citizens of their country at no cost. This is because government can make money from it and also, it can improve the rate of literacy in the country.