Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Government builds many infrastructures that are crucial for people to have a high-quality life. Internet is one of them that needs more attention considering its dramatic progress in the last decades. Due to its important characteristics, there is a long-standing discussion among people about whether governments should spend money on it like other infrastructures or not. Some people are inclined toward the attitude that governments should offer Internet to all citizens like other services, whereas others hold the opposite perspective. Although it is a little hard to reach a consensus on this issue, I believe that they should focus on it like others. It can help citizens to manage their life, use online learning and do online purchasing

To commence, one compelling reason is that Internet helps people to save time in order to spend it on other activities. It goes without saying that, time management in this overwhelming life is a master key to being a successful person. Generally speaking, using Internet is an efficient way to save and manage time. For instance, utilizing online navigation to find the fastest route when we want to travel in the city or outside, can save time and energy. An empirical study conducted in the US shows that people who use online navigation applications are happier with reaching to their work, particularly, when they are new in a city. As a personal experience, I remember that when I moved to Montreal, I used Google Maps to find an efficient way to my work I could save 20 minutes a day which had a pretty good impact on my satisfaction, because, I arrived home for dinner in the right time. This experience taught me that using internet based technologies can facilitate my life in new places.

Let us continue by considering the fact that online shopping is an inseparable activity in this modern life. To illustrate this point one need only refer to the number of online platforms that have been developed in response to people's needs. Statistics show people prefer to buy their needs not only in the meantime but also they want to review a wide range of qualities, styles and so on to make a decision. Needless to say that without internet these facilities are not available. Therefore, governments should assign more budget to this infrastructure. Economically speaking, obtaining taxes from this platform can help governments to spend more money on other programs they have on the table.

Furthermore, one should not forget that education is presented based on online platforms is these days. Generally speaking, internet can provide a university in our home by improving our knowledge which is a master key in many spheres of life, such as jobs, games, and workout.

Drawing upon the reasons, although there are some exceptions which are excluded from the general role, I do believe that access to Internet is essential like other services such as building the road. It can help citizens for managing time, increasing their knowledge by attending online courses, and doing online shopping. I propose to governments to focus on it like services.