Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Nowadays, internet has become the top concern of modern citizens. Recently, there is a heated debate on whether government should provide free internet access, some claim that it is waste of money to do it. As for me, I believe that governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Firstly, with the development of the technology, the internet will shorten the distance between people. To be specific, with some cutting edge technology like facing communication, online chatting, and voice calling. We can easily contact with our families or friends who are live in other cities or countries. Through this we can strength the link with them, and ask help from them. Take me for example, at the first year of college, I was worried and anxious, since I went alone to Chengdu which was far away from my hometown Zhejiang. And I did not know anyone here, sometimes I felt lonely. However, thanks to the video chatting application, I could call my mom and friends anytime I want, they always gave me an accompany online, and gave me some advices to dealing with the group work, communicating with others, and preparing for the presentation. Therefore, even I was in a strange environment, I still adapted it quickly because using the internet.

Furthermore, people can use internet having access to higher education. To be exact, there is no better way to teach yourself than using the internet. That's because internet makes it possible to watch videos that made by famous universities and search for information all over the world. My friend Lucy's experience is the best illustration of this. Lucy comes from a remote village in Guizhou, they have to walk at least 2 hours to go to the primary school and the high school is even farther. She has limit resource to study not to mention to study another language. But internet gives her the chances to learn english and the government offer it for free, so ever since, she watched the English videos online, reading newspaper in English, imitating the tone of how native speaker speaks. After a year, she can talk with a foreigner in English. How could she do that if government does not provide internet for free.

In conclusion, from what has been discussed above, I still maintain that governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.