Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Providing Internet access is just as important as other services such as building roads so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost

Nowadays, the internet has become the top concern of modern citizens. Recently, there is a heated debate on whether the government should provide free internet access, some claim that it is a waste of money to do it. As for me, I believe that governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Firstly, with the development of technology, the internet will shorten the distance between people. To be specific, with some cutting-edge technology like facing communication, online chatting, and voice calling. We can easily contact our families or friends who are living in other cities or countries. Through this, we can strengthen the link with them, and ask for help from them. Take me for example, at the first year of college, I was worried and anxious since I went alone to Chengdu which was far away from my hometown Zhejiang. And I did not know anyone here, sometimes I felt lonely. However, thanks to the video chatting application, I could call my mom and friends anytime I want, they always gave me an accompanying online, and gave me some advice to dealing with group work, communicating with others, and preparing for the presentation. Therefore, even though I was in a strange environment, I still adopted it quickly because of using the internet.

Furthermore, people can use the internet to have access to higher education. To be exact, there is no better way to teach yourself than using the internet. That's because the internet makes it possible to watch videos made by famous universities and search for information all over the world. My friend Lucy's experience is the best illustration of this. Lucy comes from a remote village in Guizhou, they have to walk at least 2 hours to go to the primary school and the high school is even farther. She has limited resources to study not to mention to study another language. But the internet gives her the chance to learn English and the government offers it for free, so ever since, she watched English videos online, and read newspapers in English, imitating the tone of how a native speaker speaks. After a year, she can talk with a foreigner in English. How could she do that if the government does not provide internet for free.

In conclusion, from what has been discussed above, I still maintain that governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.