TPO 59

The reading and listening materials have a debate on how to save the rhinoceros. The writer proposes three ways, nevertheless, the speaker argues that all of those ways have significant weaknesses.

The writer claims that wildlife experts can remove Rhino horns, however the speaker views this issue from an opposite angle. According to her, this idea is not practical or good enough, since it will decrease Rhinos' survival rates, she advances the theory by saying that, although we have money and time to settle them, they still might not survive after the surgery. On the other hand, this may help them avoid being killed by poachers, however, they use the horn to dig for water, find food, and protect youngsters, so if they do not have the horn, it is a disadvantage living in wild.

The author states that they can educate consumers, but the speaker opposes the idea and takes the view that it is difficult to educate people with strong and old beliefs. She indicates the thought that rhino horn can heal from very ancient and old cultures which may last for a thousand years. So new scientific pieces of evidence are unlikely to change people's minds.

The reading argues that the government should legalize the sale of rhino horns. By contrast, in accordance with the speaker, the passage's claim does not hold water because this may have unpredictable results. She contends that people now do not buy it because it is illegal if the government sales were legal, people think it is acceptable to buy it, as a result, the demand will highly increase, leading to larger markets. So the price will become expensive again, which makes the poachers kill more rhinos in order to gain numerous profits.