Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding weather young people nowadays are restrained by more social orders, answers can vary considerably from individual to individual. Some people believe the young people were expected more by society, making them fail to be themselves, while others argues that it is more diverse and inclusive in current society. As far as I am concerned, my experience leads me to conclude that the former statement is more reasonable, and I will explain why I stand the viewpoint in the following essay.

To begin with, I believe the society become more and more liberal, indicating that people are more allowed to express themselves. Take the gender issue for example: when my mom was young, the girls were expected to get married soon as long as they turned into adult. Consequently, my grandfather refused to let her enter to the college, just because she was a girl. Although she wanted to obtain higher education, she soon got married with my father after graduating from high school. Conversely, the girls are not be forced to marry someone when they become adults. In my college, the number of female students even higher than male. Even though there are still some discrimination and stereotype toward the woman, they have more opportunities to explore their lives and achieve their dreams currently.

Furthermore, the society also become more inclusive to different kinds of people. In the past, if you did not fulfill some social expectation, you might be punished by the power of authority. For instance, the homosexual was determined as mental disease and illegal behavior in the past. Under the circumstance, they had no choice but pretend to be heterosexual, or they would be depressed by the society. Being caught, they might be put in to prison and be asked to take the treatments. In contrast, my country, Taiwan, have passed the law of same-sex marriage for few years, admitting the marriage between two men or two women. Currently, to punish someone because of the sexual orientation and to cure the homosexual by the treatments are determined to be illegal, and the young gay and lesbian will not be forced to conceal themselves in today society.

In a nutshell, I firmly believe that young people today are less confined by social order. I realize that there are still numerous absurd rules that expect young people to obey. Nevertheless, I believe I have substantiated reasons to support my point of view