Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, there is a trend that the rules made by the society which are expected to be followed by young people are becoming stricter, thus resulting in a drastic debate on whether such rules are too strict. From my perspective, if the society can put them into use in proper circumstances, these regulations are suitable as regards the growth of adolescents as well as the development of society as a whole.

Admittedly, undue restrictions within the context of education will bring unexpected negative effects. We have already entered an era of innovation and interdisciplinary approaches are becoming more and more important. If the students are restricted excessively in the campus situation, they will behave and cause less trouble for certain but will gradually lose the ability of creative and critical thinking simultaneously, which is the loss of the society since these students are necessary components of creative communities. Imagine how frightening it is if all students just simply approve of what their professors assert and what is written in their textbooks, which will greatly reduce the possibilities of the STEM subjects eventually. Given that it is so important to protect the students from losing their creativity, the restrictions in the educational institutions should be carefully designed.

However, the ultimate meaning of the society's cultivation of young people ought not to be overlooked, to prepare them to adapt to this highly complex system of careers to be exact. Years of training can certainly make young people well-rounded and have a deeper understanding of a vast variety of concepts. Nevertheless, whether they are equipped with the mindset in which making contributions to society is the primary concern needs to be discussed. If I were the president of the education department, stricter rules should be enforced since they are the key to a stable society. Only when we ensure young people are restricted by regulations in their daily lives can we safely assert that society can function well. Otherwise, adolescents may organize protests against the government, causing chaos to society because a regular pattern of production will be influenced deeply. Thus, for the sake of a harmonious society, stricter rules should be made to restrict the behaviors of the young.

To sum up, it is wise to make stricter rules for the young to follow as long as they are enforced in the right situations and are seriously designed.