Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Scientists should be responsible for the negative effects of their discoveries.

It is indispensable scientists improve our live through their discoveries and invention in science and technology. It might also seem sensible the discoveries they created have positive and negative impacts to the society. Although they are easily accusable for this negative impacts, I believe the discoveries are disintegrated with its utilization and scientist cannot be blame on them.

Each invention the scientists created always have the benefits and drawbacks. Even though they are not willing to commit any harmful desire, there will be always a side effect of the initial purpose. Take an example from the Manhattan Project in early 1910s, it was designed to collect all the scientist all around the world to create a subtle invention. However, it turned out to be the most devastated event, as its final output was utilized to create atomic bomb in the next world war. Other example, the invention of internet changed the way of our communication and the world became globalized. On the other side, it can be neglected there is many frauds on the internet and many users lost their fortune or deceived by criminals. So that, the effect the scientists’ invention always has two side of coin, upsides and downsides.

The one who is responsible for the undesired effects of an invention is its users. The rightful body accountable for any dreadful effects of the inventions is the person itself. For example, the science of telemetry is useful to navigate the global warming and mapping the polar ice melting. However, it also can be used to spy other country by any irresponsible government. Therefore, the scientists have no intention to do any harm, but the people who utilize it is the one who is in charge for.

Based on the aforementioned reason, despite many believe undesired effect of the inventions lie back to the inventors, I believe the invention and its utilization are disintegrated and the users is the one accountable for any effects. Government must take control of a new discovery in science and technology by implementing restriction policy. Otherwise it can be used harm anybody.