Many students starting university must choose a major, and parents of these students often give them advice about which major to choose. Some parents tell their children to choose the major that most interests the students, other parents tell students that it is best to choose a major that will lead to a job with a high salary, even if that major may not be the one that most interests the students. Which approach do you believe is better and why?

High school graduation is one of the most critical point of someone’s life because they have to select a university major around many choices. This phase would be important for their future. Parents may have their own assumption to advice their children in selecting the courses and sometimes force their kids to accept what they believe. Personally, I believe these graduated school students have the ability to make their own decision. These including to follow their own research on the selected major and choose a major that might seems unpopular.

On selecting their child’s university, parents may have suggestion or may even a coercion to follow their option. Parents my think they acknowledge many information to supplement their thought based on their experience in the past. This might not be the case if these parents did not update on recent trend on the career job or in other words, they just relied on anything happen in the past. For example, being a doctor might sound prestigious in the past but for now it becomes common profession. Another thing, being a Petroleum Engineer might be cool 10 years ago due to its higher salary comparatively to other industry. For now, it is difficult to find the job in this field. I believe parent’s input might be influential, but students have to make their own decision based on their own thinking and research.

On choosing a major, students have to believe on their own future goals, even if the major is not having a bright prospect in the future. They should have the passion and eagerness to take any major they have chosen. They should have their own believe they must be successful in the future by selecting the major. Even if the job leads to a high salary prospect, if there is no willingness and not passionate about the subject, the results will not be satisfying. In other case, some jobs that in 10 years ago was not being considered like IT industry, now becomes the most popular one so that, the future is uncertain, some jobs that is currently trending, might disappear in the future. Therefore, instead of choosing a major with bright future prospect, these students should choose any major based on their passion and future goals.