Which one of the following do you think is the best way to get to know a city in a limited amount of time when you first visit it? Touring historic sites; going to markets or shops; eating in restaurants or spending time in cafes.

There are many ways of knowing and learning the city history and culture. Some might said, it would be better to go to the market or even a restaurant to know the best food and local cuisine of the city, but I prefer to visit historical sites or local museum when addressing the new city. By visiting the hisorical places or museum, you would simply learn about the city's relics and artifacts and learning from the expert, the historian and museum's curators.

Travelling to a new town might seems interesting when you meet a new locals in the traditional markets or hanging out to the best cafe in the town. By meeting the locals, you can learn the local dialects and culture or find some local livestocks, like endemic fish or local meat farms. Ordering local food might also be an interesting idea by visiting the local restaurants and tasting the local cuisine. These activities is really fascinated when you are in a new town and having to know the best of city can offer to you. In Indonesia, for example, every region almost have different language or dialect spoken and have distinguished type of cuisine that the outsiders needs to check-in when they visiting those places. Although these idea might help to get know well about the city, I personally believe about visiting the historical sites or museum that matter most.

Meanwhile, if someone need to learn and study the local history and culture, histoical sites, monuments, museums offer the best choice. By asking the curators of the museum, we can simply understand the city's history in less than an hour. By knowing the city history, it will made its people to put more respect about the city and also grow the loving interest for city. In example, we would care about city historical sites and preserves them for any vandalism and destructive activities done by irresponsible people. Government and its people should help the preservation of these historical sites so that anyone who visit the city can fastly learn about city's history and culture.

To conclude, it is important to learn the city's history and culture by vising museum and historical sites to grow more respect and care about the city rather than only vising the local market or restaurants.