Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment, and not enough time on more serious duties and obligations.

Nowadays, millions of people tend to enjoy leisure activities rather than performing national services or other country's call. I strongly agree with this statement because this trend is mainly driven by a peaceful era since the end of World War Second and the fast-growing development of tourism programs.

Firstly, after the end of the Second World War, no other international conflict leads to the next multinational war. After the 1940's period, the conflict of two or more nations was not escalated to further multi-nation war. This resulting every people can live in peace in the years ahead and do not have to think about defending their nation. They can now think about something else, like making a better life which leads people to have more tourism activities more often than a few decades back. There is no more military service oblige by the government also making these leisure things leverage. Therefore, more people want to go to the tourist spot rather than spend time to do military exercise or public services.

The massive development of tourism activities also makes these things worse. With the government's need to add national earning, they create multiple national tourism campaign in which they are now promoting includes the use of celebrities or influence to support their agenda. People now are easliy attracted with the celebrities as their role model, so this type of government's programs are proof to be successful to persuade people to visit the tourism places more often than it used to be in the past decades. For example, the Indonesian government create a national tourism porgram to be promoted not only to its residents but also to attract internation tourists. This program include 7 different tourist destination with the full package of transportaion and accomodation and it has full support from government. These situation could easily urge more people to do such enjyoable activities rather than doing national services.

To sump up, the way we live today is more affiliated into a more leisure activity than serious service due to the peaceful era and government programs.