Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Sometimes it is better to be dishonest with people than to always tell them the truth. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Maintaining healthy relationships could be difficult in today's world. There are many aspects in our interactions with others that we need to worry about. In my opinion, we should not always tell the truth especially with the people we care about the most. I feel this way for two reasons that I will explore in the following passage.

Firstly, sometimes telling small lies can motivate people who have the potential but need motivation. People are competitive by nature and would feel motivated if they believe they could excel at a task they have been assigned. So, telling a minute lie to enhance their attitude towards the task would reflect on their productivity and they would even show impressive results. Take my own compelling experience as an example. My husband signed up for a marathon race held in our city. When he asked for my opinion, I lied and said he will be one of the top ten. Accordingly, this inspired him and he devoted all his time and energy to practice. Although he did not make it to the top ten, he appreciated my support and came out of the experience healthier and more athletic. If I told him the truth from the start, he would have lost interest and won't have adopted this new healthy lifestyle. Obviously, being dishonest occasionally with good intentions is essential for our relationships with our beloved people and their progress.

On the other hand, telling the truth on some occasions causes high levels of anxiety. Because when you reveal the truth, there might be some unpleasant consequences. Eventually, this will affect your peace of mind. For instance, my colleague asked me how I feel about her new haircut and actually, I did not like it so told her the plain truth. However, she didn't express any anger from my remarks but I knew she got sad. Eventually, I was so stressed all day and was skeptical if I jeopardized our friendship by emphasizing the truth about her haircut. As you see, being dishonest would have saved me from this stress and kept my relationship with my colleague healthy and unaffected.

In essence, being honest or dishonest depends much on the situation at hand. However, some dishonesty is mandatory to keep good relationships with people we interact with every day.