Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Sometimes we are assigned to work in a group on a project. The group will be helped more by a person who will be willing to do what other group members want than by a person who often strongly insists that things should be done in a way that is different from what the group wants to do.

To help students develop cooperation awareness, professors today are more likely to let students finish group projects together. Some people contend that members insisting on their own ways to do things are more helpful to the group than people who are willing to do what others want. However, personally speaking, people who are willing to carry out the thoughts of other group members are more beneficial to a group, as it helps the group save up much time and contributes to the relationships among group members.

Without doubt, cooperative members can greatly increase the efficiency. Specifically, such members are willing to spend time in carrying out the thoughts and plans of the whole group and make the group more practical, which will definitely help the group save up time. For example, I was once assigned to work with roommates on a biological experiment that is quite complicated and time-consuming. After brief discussion, we came up with a primitive plan. Without hesitation, one of my roommate started working on it. Greatly encouraged by his behavior, all of us get engaged in the experiment. Finally, we become the only group that finished the assignment on time, as other groups spend too much time in arguing about the ways to do the experiment. Without my roommate's willingness to cooperate, never would my group receive positive remarks from our professor.

Also, such people contributes to the relationship among group members. A group member who is willing to work on others' thoughts can sometimes stop the endless arguments and create friendly atmosphere. Take myself as an example, there was a time when I was assigned to work in a group which composed of students from different grades. At the beginning, several senior students insisted on their thoughts, thinking they were more experienced. Caring little about their arguments, I started to doing researches on the thoughts of majority. Soon later, seeing what I was doing, all other group members stopped the meaningless argument and started to communicate more friendly about the specific steps to carry out the plan. If I had not been so cooperative, such friendly atmosphere would not have come up.

It has been argued that a person preferring to do things in a different way can benefit the group, as independent thinking might bring about surprising result. Some group members may have unique ideas which cannot be understood by others until they are carried out. However, such independence can lead to a tight relationship among group members, which is definitely harmful to the cooperation.

In summary, it is sometimes true that people doing things in ways different from other group members can benefit the group. However, after discussion, I still think group members willing to working on others' thoughts are more helpful to the group.