Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

As a student for the last 16 years of my life, if there is anything I can say for sure, it's that the environment of our school life truly shapes us as an individual and helps to determine the person we become eventually. Teachers and friends are two such fundamental components in forming the shape of our character. Now, if I were asked to choose the person who had the most influence on me, I would definitely point to the latter group. Not only were they important for me, but they had also influenced me in most of my decisions directly or indirectly. Due to similarities that come with a common age group, a sense of competetion among each other and the extent of empathy shared within the friends, I have been highly affected by them.

Since people identify closest with the ones they can relate with, who else can one feel connected to one another better than the people of same generation? Being in a same age group, it is easier to feel peer pressure than any other forms of persuasion. There is one particular incident that happened to me in sixth grade. The teahcer in our class had announced the optional field trip the following week but she was strongly encouraging everyone to join. Nevertheless, I had decided to bail out in the hopes that I could stay home and watch TV whole day. However, when I learnt all my friends were going, I had this intense desire to join as well. As I finally ended up going, I realized difference beetween the impact of my teacher and my friends in me. Definitely, it was my peer circle who had me make that decision.

Now, what follows the peer pressure next is sense of competition. Looking around the classmates can highly affect one's performance. I for one, have my own little experience back when I was in Eigth grade. As an average student, I was friends with people of similar intellect level. However, this one time, a very close friend of mine went ahead to become a class topper. After this event, I realized that I could excel if I worked hard as well. And not surprsingly, I was replacing my friend from the next test after that. Irrespective of the countless counselling my class teacher used to give me, it was only when I felt the sense of competetion from my friend, did I feel influenced to work hard. This shows how competition can persuade a person.

Notwithstanding the negative forces that come with friends, it is important to address the blessings that come with it in the form of being able to share feelings and all sorts of problems. Not that there aren't teachers who don't want to ,listen to any problems but it is still that friends we go to everytime we struggle with something. There are countless times I have found it easier to complain with my friends and follow their advice than that of teachers.

To sum up, the irresistible pressure from peer circle, the sense of competition they can ignite as well as the empathy one shares with another, are the reasons what draw us towards the friends despite our teachers being important role models in our school life.