Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I do not agree with the idea that students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Instead, I believe that friends have more influence on students, because friends have more interaction with students than teachers. When I am at school, I seldom talk to teachers, but I make a lot of friends who recommend me books, TV series and even help me with school work. All these interactions with friends create impacts on us. When I help my friends frequently, I change their ways of thinking and their behaviour, too. There are several reasons that serve to explain why friends interact more with students than teachers.

The first reason is that teachers and students are not in the same age. It is natural that people tend to get familiar with those who share the same characteristics with them, such as age, physical appearance, personality, etc.

Secondly, teachers and friends play different roles. In other words, they have different functions. This means that they hold different perspectives and think differently. Teachers have their missions, among which the primary mission is to bring knowledge to students. In a class of more than 30 students, it is impossible for the teacher to interact with all of them, so they lack interaction with students. After class, teachers go back to their office, but classmates stay together all day long. Also, there is no doubt that teachers always care for students, but most of them focus too much on the defaults of students and on how they can improve. Friends tend to explore the shining points on students, which may have a greater influence.

Lastly, as teachers and students are not in the same age, there exists a generation gap between them. Teachers may try to understand their students, but sometimes they fail to do so. Friends are more comprehensive and they share similar hobbies, and what they do together for fun would influence each other.

However, I still agree that teachers have a great impact on their students. Through my communication with kids, I found out that little kids are afraid of teachers and fond of teachers simultaneously. They might commit bad behaviours when they are with friends, but if someone threatens to report their behaviours to their teachers, it is likely that the kid begs him not to do so. Students tend to take their teachers' words seriously and follow their advice. So it is essential for teachers to pay attention to their own behaviours, in order to set up an image of authority.