Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I share the opinion that people should keep up with events happening around the world and I strongly recommend that people, especially young, educated people, read news everyday.

First, the simplest reason for us to keep following the news is that we can gain knowledge from it, and whenever others talk to us about the events happening around the world, we can discuss with them or make them impressed. This is especially useful when it comes to making friends or attending a job interview. Also, as for ourselves, reading about various news develops our interest in other cultures, bringing us more fun and making us more interesting people.

Second, it is untrue that an event happens without having consequences on us. It may not affect our daily life greatly, but surely it has, more or less, some impact on us. The famous butterfly effect indicates that all things have some sort of connection. The simple vibration of a butterfly's wings may provoke a tornado. Ridiculous as it sounds, butterfly effect occurs everyday, not just in the Final Destination. Focusing on the development of events and collecting information may help us better understand the world, and sometimes bad outcomes can be prevented from happening if we trace the source of an event.

Another tendency that reinforces the butterfly effect is the globalisation, which is now an unstoppable development. With the course of globalisation, countries and regions are no longer separated. The international relationships become more and more delicate, anything that's happening can make an impact. For example, western people might think that the wars in Afghanistan or Saudi Arabia have nothing to do with them. However, wars affect greatly the international relationships between countries and thus the policies and the economy. With the change in the overall environment of countries in war conditions, the natural resources may be greatly influenced, causing the fluctuation of prices. It is likely that the prices of petrol in our daily life are decided by the wars. Learning about these events help us see more clearly how this world functions, as thus enable us to develop an insightful perspective on life. So another benefit is the knowledge we gain and the lessons we learn from these events. From analysing what is happening with others, we can draw a lesson and prevent ourselves from the same mistake, or learn from the good qualities of others. Sometimes by predicting the prices of natural resources, we can even make a fortune.

In conclusion, since the world is constantly changing, and as the world becomes more and more complicated, I am firmly convinced that people should care about what happens around the world, instead of being caged in their own little world.