Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I totally agree that nowadays, the extended family counts less than in the past.

When I was in Paris for one year's exchange programme, on a social problem class, the teacher discussed with us the evolution of the concept of family. She said that the family has passed from the traditional concept of extended family to core family, and even to other forms of family, such as families of DINK couples. The same tendency occurred in both France and China, and in many other parts of the world, I suppose. There are numerous factors contributing to this change.

To begin with, the modern world allows people to live in farther places. As more and more railway stations are built in what was once very remote areas and as the velocity of trains become higher, people are able to travel a long distance and go wherever they want to. This advancement enables them to reach places they dared not even dream of. Therefore, family members do not live together any more as an aggregation. Also, with the development of telecom technology, people are able to keep in touch with their family and friends without staying right beside them.

Another remarkable point is that, as the technology becomes more and more cutting-edge, the generation gap becomes larger. For example, my grand parents can hardly understand what I do everyday with my smartphone, and sometimes even if I explain its functions to them, this small device is still strange to them.

What's more, the modern society provides people with various opportunities. During the process of urbanisation, a lot of young people move from their hometown to big cities, seeking for a job opportunity that may change their whole life. Often, cities offer bunches of opportunities, allowing some of these young to become millionaires. Others who stayed in the hometown, on hearing the legend created by these young people, followed them to the cities. As time goes by, it is often the old who are left in the countryside. Thus, the entire family is split into several fragments, scattering about in different places.

Lastly, the busy life in cities leaves people with less time to spend on their family. The quick-paced life in cities is always surrounded by work. People rarely have time to stop their work to see their family. Even if they have some leisure time, they would prefer spending it on themselves or on their children. I used to live with my grand parents when I was little, but then I moved to another city with my parents. As I grow up, I find that with so much work to do, I barely have the time to call them, not to mention to see them in person. My free time becomes so precious to me that there is not a single person with whom I want to share my time. People are too exhausted to keep a keen relationship with their aunts and uncles, especially when they do not live under the same roof.

With the four reasons I mentioned above, I am fully convinced that nowadays, the extended family is less important than it was in the past.