Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in schools

Nowadays, people not only chase a job for enough food and clothes but also for individual fulfillment, how to achieve success in a job became a serious concern for young adults. Some people hold the point that compared with hard working in schools, improving the ability to relate well to people is more vital for a successful career, whereas I disagree with it.

Granted the social ability is beneficial to one’ s career development. Especially for jobs which communication is highly required like marketing, teaching. If one does not know how to talk with customers or students properly and effectively, he or she will not do the job well. In addition, the employees who can relate well with others such as performing actively in front of the boss and having a harmonious relationship with colleagues will increase his or her chance to get promoted.

However, solid professional knowledge is more momentous for a successful career. It is because knowledge is the basis of good performance in jobs rather than social skills. For example, a lawyer won a case results from his or her deep and comprehensive legal knowledge, rigorous logical thinking and remarkable debate skill, which from his or her numerous reading and practice in school, but not the good relationships with the judges or other attorneys.

Moreover, what students learned through their hard work in schools can inspire them to cope with difficulties in work. One may have lots of problems when chasing a job development, some good qualities which come from former studying experience could help a lot. For instance, my sister Anna is a magazine editor, in the beginning she got promotion, she was afraid she could not do the job well cause she was overwhelmed by the massive quantity of the job. Then she remembered how did she deal with endless assignments and well organize her time when she was in college, she used the same diligence, tenacity and time management method overcame her challenges in work. She is unlikely to do the job well without the hard working experience in school.

All in all, it is undeniable that a excellent social ability helps one’s career especially when the job demands lots of communication with people, but extensive knowledge and great skills gained and cultivated in school are basic of a career, plus good qualities and experience learned from hard working play a prominent role in one’s better career.