TPO-15 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

Financially responsible adults are usually of financial independence, which is a prominent character for modern people. Some people claim that children should learn to manage their own money when they are young so they could become financially responsible adults in the future and I agree with it.

To begin with, children can learn how to save money, how to distribute money and even how to make profits from their money by managing their own money. First, save money. Since children are too young to get an official job, most of their money comes from their parents, which is limited. But if they want to buy a toy which the price is much beyond what they can afford, they would save every dollar they get from their parents in order to purchase the dream toy. Second, distribute money. Managing their own money could cultivate children’s ability of making feasible financial plans and allocating money wisely. Because they need to decide if they should spend money on something first and how much should spend. Third, make profits from money. When money becomes a limited resource to children, they are likely to think how to make it more with what they already have. No matter from the bank’s interests or making some small deals with their friends, with help of their parents, they would learn a lot from managing their own money.

Then, children’s cognition and behavior patterns have huge influence on their future life. Habits formed at their young age still exist when they become adults. With proper guidance, good habits of managing money which mentioned above would become good financial habits when they grow up and play a essential role. Moreover, the sooner good habits are developed, the more benefits people could get in the future, there are many young adults are not financially independent or spend their money randomly, if they have learned how to manage their money when their were young, the situation would be different.

Last, what children learned when they were managing their money contribute them to become financially responsible adults. A financially responsible adult prefers saving money for achieving bigger goal rather than spending as much as he or she has, a financially responsible adult knows how much should be for emergence, how much should be used for investment and how much should for spoiling himself/herself or for helping others. And a financially responsible adult would like to make more profits from his or her assets, because the amount of salary is limited, just like the money from parents when he or she is young, a variety of investments would be necessary.

All in all, with parents’ help and correct instructions, children could cultivate the awareness of saving money, learn how to distribute money and make profits from money, all their good money management habits could affect their future life which benefit them to become financially responsible adults. Therefore, children should learn to manage their own money at young age.