Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only do what they know how to do well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A glance at successful people's attitude toward taking risks brings to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, whether it is wise to accept new challenges or to do what we know how to do well. Although some of my colleagues assert that it is safer to satay in comfort zone and do whatever we are good at, I, as a graduate pharmacy student reject this opinion and think that we must try new things to alter our capabilities' boundaries.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that new skills give us the opportunity to change our perspective and develop our abilities. A study at Harvard University, shows that student who are eager to learn more than course requirements and participate in extra credit activities, get better score in SAT exam. This is because of comprehensive understanding about various subjects which assists them to solve problems with different methods. For example, if there is an old difficult way to solve a mathematic question, today we can find newer ways via computer programming such as MATLAB. Therefore, people who accept the risk of using new methods, are more successful.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that we are in rapidly changing era and we must keep ourselves up to date. If a pharmacist does not know about electronic prescription, definitely he cannot find a decent job, despite his other qualifications. Worlds is changing, even though we resist. As a matter of fact, If we do not move with the change speed, we fall behind. Thus, it is obvious that new challenges make us a qualified person.

Admittedly, there are some advantages of only doing what we know well. For instance, with specialization, people become expert in a specific field and will be well-known for their knowledge. A professional painter needs at least 20 years to be good at bakery. However, it does not mean to only do what we know well. I still believe that somewhere in the process of becoming successful we need to take risks. So, if we just stay in our comfort zone and do not start a new skill, we cannot be knowledgable.

Due to the aforementioned argument explored in the previous statements, I highly recommend people specifically in healthcare field to keep their information up to date and understand the newest version of softwares.