Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays. Use

specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The argument above asserts that teachers have better social standing in the past than today. A simple recognition of the argument lends our discussion to a very crucial question of why should respect to teachers and value this job in our society? Although it is broadly based argument which cannot summed up in a word or so, we need look no further than the fact that teachers play a vital role in every society in the world. That having been mentioned, I however adhere to this belief that teachers were more appreciated in the past than were nowadays for the reasons will be illustrated at length in following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the crux of the matter lies in the fact that, being a teacher or university professor gives you a highly social standing in the world and specially the society were you live. In better words, this job is very important and it considers the one of the best job in the world. Teachers have undeniable effect on our lives. We cannot overlook the role of teachers in human lives. We know that teachers are not infallible but being a university professor would pave the way for teachers to establish a cordial rapport with students and pass their knowledge down to student. Always teachers feel oblige to do something for their compatriots. Today teachers have low salary and teaching in university has not enough benefits for their lives. For example in our country teachers obtain 10$ for 2 hours teaching which is very low. In the past there were some benefits associated with teaching such as high income, highly social standing and some advantages for teacher’s family. Therefore, owing to this reasons that I put forward, I totally agree with this topic and I believe that government should contrive some ways to increase the teacher’s salaries.

Secondly, nowadays people do not want to be a teacher. The demand for being a teacher or university professor is detracting. Being a university professor not only has low salary even has some trouble and inconvenience. So due to this reason, people prefer to choose other jobs. For the purpose of the illustration, let's take the example of one of my best friends who teaches in university. One week ago he makes a mistake in his class and suddenly one student points out his mistake in class and other students scorn and humiliate their teacher. Consequently, my friend scorn it and discard the class. We should know that teachers are worthy of respect and they are not infallible. As a proverb says “to err is human”, I mean everyone makes mistake including teachers. So If a teacher makes a mistake we should off going quietly about it and correct the mistake after the class in private. Hence, this reasons that I posed can decrease the teacher’s social standing.

To sum up, I totally agree with this topic and I believe that in the past teachers were worthy of respect more than today. Also government and anthropologist should determine and survey the factor of this phenomenon.