Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? teachers in the past were more appreciated and valued by people than they were nowadays.

Being a teacher has been one of the most prestigious and respectful professions throughout history. Opinions are divided whether and to what extend around the question that teachers are appreciated as much as they were in the past years or not. Personally, I am of the confirmed opinion that teachers in the old years were more appreciated. I will stand my standpoint of view for two concrete reasons which have been stated in the following lines.

The first worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that since there were just a few numbers of teachers in the last decades, people valued them even more than they deserved. To be more specific, some communities had to wait a long time to have a teacher educating their beloved children who were going to be the future of their societies. Consequently, teachers were such valuable individuals needed to have advanced society. My grandfather's experience is an apt illustration of this. The village he was living in at that time was lack of a teacher for many years that they decided to explore cities to find one person to be the teacher of children in their village providing all necessities of his/her life but their hopes to find a teacher did not come true. As a result, since teachers were rare in the past years, they were more appreciated by social members because losing them was an irreparable mistake.

The second remarkable reason to be noted is that teachers in the old years well the teacher of the whole community as well as age-school children. Actually, they had responsibilities for people where they were teaching in. In the other words, in the current teachers' eyes, being a teacher is limited just to classes whereas in the old times not only did teachers act as a teacher inside the classes but also in the society, among people. Furthermore, teachers' opinions in the old years due to their scarce knowledge were more valued by people who hardly had formal education. Therefore, it is an undeniable fact that teachers because of their presence in their community and their knowledge had more respect among people.

To wrap up what has been discussed, it is my firm point of view that teachers in the last decades were more valued rather than rather the in the many years ago because there were just a few numbers of them that having a teacher was a blessing. Besides, teachers were the teacher both inside and outside classes in communities.