Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade they get in school.

School-age children are a big responsibility for parents that they take different ways to encourage their beloved kids to study their lessons. Opinions are divided on whether and to what extent children should be offered money for each high mark they get or not. Personally, I strongly believe that there is no shortage of the idea of giving money to children-students if they get high grades. In the ensuing lines, two concrete reasons have been stated to elaborate on my standpoint of view.

The first remarkable reason to clarify my outlook is that offering money to kids encourages them to study hard and get better marks, which transform lazy kids into hardworking ones. In other words, money acts as a motivator to enhance children’s efforts in both school and home to study well. My nephew, for example, is an apt illustration of this. He used to postpone his homework and do not pay attention in classes that his teachers had a big concern regarding his final exams whether my nephew is able to pass them or not. Consequently, his father made a deal with him that for any high mark, my nephew will get 100 dollars. As a result, my nephew started studying day and night, such a hardworking that resulted in passing final exams with high grades. Had his father not offer him money for getting high marks, he never even passed final exams, let alone getting high grades.

The second worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that giving money to children after obtaining high grades gives them a sense of being useful and independent in childhood. To be more specific, receiving money for the work they have done, teaches them how to be independent through earning money. My own experience is a compelling clarification on this. Being a straight-A student, I used to receive money for every high mark so I could save some money every semester. As a consequence, I would be able to have something on my own that gave me more independence since I had not to turn to anybody even my parents to have them. Had I never received that money from my parents, I never had my independence in my childhood to purchase something by myself. Therefore, the more money they receive, the more will they independent.

In light of what has been discussed, I strongly reinforce the idea that students receive money for each high grade because, acting as a motivator, it transforms lazy kids into hardworking ones. Besides, children become more independent in their childhood and it teaches them the role of money in independence.