Some parent offer their school age children money for each high grade they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Giving money as reward to children for their well behavior or good accomplishments at school is one the most common ways that parents use to show their satisfaction toward their kids. Some people think that money can be a right choice as a gift for children. While, some others believe that this is a bad idea and parents should not give money to their children. In my point of view, giving money to school age children would harm them in the future due to two serious reasons.

First, giving money to the kids for their good grades can deviate their behavior and create wrong expectations in them about their accomplishments in future when they grow older. Young adults are in a very delicate age, since they learn and adapt themselves to what they experience in their early life. Normally, they would try to replicate these actions and behaviors during their life especially when they become older. For example, my friend, Jim, learned in their family that it is OK that you insult somebody back who insults you at the first place which is totally wrong as we all know. But, his parents taught him that this action is completely acceptable and he adapt himself with this information and perception.

Second, it can affect their ability to contribute in humanitarian activities. In a condition where parents imply that money is the only compensation for any accomplishment, they would like to gain money from any little work that they carry out for their fellow citizens in a social community. For instance, when I participated in a fundraising event last year, I met an old coworker who now became a famous enthrapruner. He wrote a big check for the event but he also demanded the cermony holders to endorse him in the way of competing for congress.

In conclusion, some parents prefer to give their kids money for their good grades at school. However, it can lead to a number of complications in children’s future. It may rise their expectations from others and create some misunderstandings. Also, this action can reduce their social and charitable contribution which they can make for their society.