Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are  both positive and negative aspects of allowing teachers to discuss their own social and political views with the students. Although some people believe that teachers should not make their social or political views known to the students, I think that teachers must open up their views on political or social activities to their students and I will address in detail in the subsequents paragraphs.

First and foremost, teachers should help their students to be a responsible human being. Apart from discussing the textbook contents, teachers also discuss the social or the political matters, students will be to know what is happening around themselves in their country. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. You see, while in the first year of my college, our economic teacher, Ratan sir, used to discuss social activities everyday before starting the class. Many students including me used to wait for this moment, as we not only get to know about the social activities led by some organizations like different NGOS at our locality, we used to participate in the discussion too. Therefore, this eventually encouraged us to engage ourselves with a NGO, named Kalyan to teach the needy students in different places including Sundarban, the southeast part of the west bengal. For this reason, if our teacher never informed us about the social activities, we would have never been able to devote ourselves to such a great activity like teaching poor students.

Secondly, discussing social or political activities also plays a great role in improving the interpersonal skill of the students. Since the students find a common topic to discuss with their teacher, it helps them to be more open to their teacher. Most importantly, this helps them to improve their communication skill by letting them express their views. Drawing from my own experience, my brother used to be very shy in his school days, but he was very sound about politics. I remember when their new history teacher joined, his communication skill changed dramatically. He used to discuss the political events, on which he is interested, with his teacher regularly in the classroom. As a result, he conquered this problem and improved his communication skill to a great extent. And now my brother is an eminent economist.

In the light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that teachers should talk about the social or the political activities in the classroom. This is because it helps students to broaden their knowledge about the activities happening around them and improve their communication skill.