Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should be paid at least as much as doctors, lawyers or business leaders.

Teachers nourish and germinate the future germs of a country. Some people argue that they should be paid as least the level that could be compared with doctors, lawyers or business leaders due to their great social contributions. In my point of view, this statement is true for the following reasons.

First of all, teachers don’t get what they deserved for their input and effort. Teachers often sacrifice their spare time to solve student’s questions, especially when students are preparing for the Gao Kao, working the same hour as the business leader do.Professors also need to grasp the latest cut-edge knowledge and do a lot of research in the laboratory, just the way the doctors do. They have to be creative and adjust their teacher methods according to their students every time, requiring the same level of intelligence and adaptability. Teachers devote the same level of time, abilities, and efforts as doctors, lawyers, and business leader. It is quite unfair for them to receive such a small amount of wages.

In addition, teachers don’t get what they deserved payment for their output and contribution. Teachers are responsible for imparting their precious and profound knowledge to their students, who promisingly will become such doctors to cure diseases for patients, such lawyers to protect innocent citizens from crimes, and such business leaders to generate benefits and foster the economy of a country. Without their profound and knowledgeable teachers/mentors, will they be competent, and therefore, capable of receiving those high salaries? The answer might be no. Hence, teachers should be valued appropriated and correspondingly.

Furthermore, the payment increment can boost the educational development. Giving teachers more money plays as an incentive for them to devote their hearts and souls and motivate them to give better classes and be more patient with students. It also relieves their financial burden, allowing teachers to be more concentrate on improving overall academic performance. Plus, high salary will attract more people to join the profession. With more competition, the best people would be the ones who are ultimately hired. Better teachers contribute to the development of the whole educational industry. In this case, more students will be well-prepared when they graduation and benefit the whole country as well.

Admittedly, it is not practical to raise all teachers' salary indiscriminately and it is necessary to maintain some difference due to the personal factors. However, it is important to raise the average salary to at least the same level of doctors, lawyers, and businessman because of teachers' great input and output as well as the positive influence on education.