Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers are crucial parts of society and have a great influence on the current and future generations. Sometimes they may talk to the students about their social or political beliefs. I do not know there is someone who supports this idea but to my way of thinking, they should be apart from making these issues known to the students.

To begin with, this situation may cause students confusing facts. Many students consider their teachers as people whom lectures should be listened in all ears. Whatever they say, young students especially students in a primary school, think that they are true. On the other hand, they are educated by their parents are influenced by their beliefs. So, students learn different things both in school and at home and, as a result, they get confused about what is true.

Besides, everyone should have a right to be free to develop their own beliefs. When people are young, they can easily be manipulated by grown people. Some teachers might try to impose their beliefs on the students but should not be allowed to do so. For example, one of my friends grew up in a radical Islamist family. Our teacher who was a secular person would try to change my friend's thoughts by talking about his beliefs. According to me, this means stealing that children's freedom of thought.

Last but not least, social and political issues are pretty sensitive and may cause hot debates or fights between students. Some people may have radical views and not respect others opinion. Since schools, especially universities are places where many people having different background and beliefs get together, teachers should never start such a conversation. For example, in my country, the 70s and 80s were bloody years because of political issues. Most university students would fight with other students supporting opposite views and, would even kill each other. What I am saying is that these issues may cause horrible results.

To sum up, teachers should not talk to students about political and social issues. In my opinion, the duty of teachers is to teach what they are supposed to teach so; political and social issues are not among them. In doing so, it may cause what I mentioned above.