Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In a team, those who do not accept others’ criticism cannot succeed.

There is an old expression in my mother language which says ”Not anyone in entire world is entirely the same”. Every person has his own way of thinking and mindset. We can not make everyone to act as we want him to but when it comes to team-work, the situation is different. One controversial discussion in studying team-work behaviors is either accepting criticism is beneficial for members of the team or not. There might be some people who hold the view that accepting criticism will cause harm to members. However I hold the opposite view and I believe that criticism acceptance is one characteristic necessary to every member of a team. I will elaborate on my most outstanding rationales in what follows.

The most important reason that comes to my mind has something to do with concept of team. By being in a team, the benefits of the team comes before individual benefits. Therefore, everybody must do anything for the sake of the team and accepting criticism is one way to reach this goal. By accepting criticism, members are respecting the others’ view of themselves and when they consider criticism, they are the first who benefit from those critisicm by eliminating they errors. Nonetheless, if members do not consider others’ criticism, not only they are causing problem for themselves, but also they hurt the team as a whole. Hence, by accepting criticism, members will seem more team-player and they contribute to themselves and to the team.

Additionally, the members who do not tolerate criticism will not have good relationship with other members. A person that do not listen to others’ opinion of himself will seem stuborn and self-centered. Obviously, nobody likes this kind of personality and this person will gradually loose his place in his teammates’ eyes. In a study conducted by Sharif university on this subject, results show that the more gregarious and outgoing a person is, the more prosperous he is in his career. Therefore, by accepting others’ criticism, we will have a better relationship in our team and as a consequence we will be more succesful in our career.

To cut the long story short, accepting criticism is a major fact in ones’ success. By accepting criticism people will seem more a team-player and lovable. I suggest to those who are unsatisfied with their team and career, to try being more a team-player and more outgoing and I am pretty sure that the reactions and results will strike them.