Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Humankind is a gregarious creature. Being in social interactions and having friends is an extreamly important criteria in determining one's mental state and happiness. A specific individual often make numerous friends in his lifetime but not gets identicaly close to all of them. Almost all of people have some friends that they feel more convinient with them. Although the ability to make lots of new friends is not bad, I beleive that the ability to maintain potential friendships with more valuable friends over long period of time is more important. I will elaborate on my most outstanding reasons in what follows.

Humankind is very complex. It is hard to know a person in short period of time. It may take years to understand someone thoroughly and comply with him\her. All of us have faced the situation in which we think a new person who we just met is perfect. At first we depict a flawless imagination of him in our minds but often this interpretion is not true. But for friends who we know for years, we have spent enormous amount of time to understand them and we know how to treat with them and vice versa. But with new friends it is hard to know how to joke with them or even talk with them in a way that is appropriate.

Passing of the time will make many things clear. A person who may seem lovely and trustable may turn out to be decieving. He may tries to take advantage of us or just wants to spend time with us for our particular advantage for him. But an old friend has proved himslef through passing of the time. In my own experience i met lots of people who i thought they are kind and good people and at the end they turned out to b the opposite.

Finally new friends don't consider the realtionship as valuable as old freinds. Old friends can be reliable in hardships, they often help us in times of trouble but new friends don't necassarily consider the friendship as serious. Hence having old friends is a guarantie for us to be sure that in our lows, there will be someone to take our hand.

To cut the long story short, Old friends are more valuable. We put much time to know them and they know us as well. They are trustable and reliable far more than new friends. In my idea making new friends is a very good ability but only if it doesn't mean to loose old friends.