Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people argue that there is no problem with television advertisements focusing on the young children and they should be allowed. They cite the basic right of companies to sell their products to support their argument. However, I strongly disagree. I believe that such advertisement should not be allowed as they have bad impact on the children and their parents. I will explain my reasons in the following passages.

First of all, most of these advertisement focused on the young children are not true to their products size and way they work. For example, a car toy for young children will be advertised in such a way that it seems to be large in size and one can even sit inside it. Without actually seeing it personally, children assume that they are actually big in size and they can drive that toy. Brain development in such a young age is not that mature and children take the advertisement for the granted. Although this case is also true for adults, but they can understand the context of the advertisement and can distinguish between them. It is found in the research that after getting hand on such toy, they not only feel bad but also question their overall faith and decision. That is why I think that television advertisement focused on young children should not be allowed.

Secondly, advertisement company know that parents will pay any price for their products if the children likes it. They use certain tactic like making product look more bright in color, allowing popular cartoon character to appear to attract the young ones. This is the case with my younger cousin, who always demand for each toy he saw on television, especially those who have his favorite cartoon character on them. They can not understand that how much pressure it cause on their parents’ pocket and the companies. Its hard for parents to refuse their children and the companies make enormous profit out of it. It has become even more difficult when everyone trying to stabilize them after the pandemic. Based on this, I think that television advertisement directed toward young children should not be allowed.

The question of whether television advertisement for the young children should be allowed is very complicated. Some people suggest that they should be allowed with regulations from the government and under the supervision of parents. However, I strictly believe that television advertisement directed toward young children should not be allowed.