Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's increasingly competitive market advertisement plays a pivotal role. There are numerous companies producing toys or other products related to young children, some of which decide to use television advertisement to reach their target customers. I, personally, disagree that this method is acceptable and I will elaborate on my view point through the following paragraphs.

First, children aged two to five do not have the ability to appropriately decide and buy anything; so their parents should decide whether a product is suitable for them or not. But when children watch the advertisements they would be captivated and thus insist on buying that. In other words, since it is far more easier to convince children that they need a product rather than convincing their parent, companies use this method to improve their sales amount. As a tangible example, my two-year old son watches intriguing toy car advertisements on television every day and he always asks me to purchase it, nevertheless he has a dozen of identical toys and his room is almost full of them. Yet I have to buy something similar because of his intolerable insisting.

Second, these kind of advertisements are not true most of the time. commercial companies try to glorify use of their products. They magnitude the product's advantages and disregard its shortcomings, which is vivid to us as adults but not to children. As a result, children totally believe what they see and get mesmerized by it. I can recall once my son watched an advertisement revolving around a doll, which was supposed to be a great friend, who could talk and laugh with children. Me and my son ordered the doll with a lot of passion. However, it turned out that the doll is just an ordinary toy just like the other toys we have bought before.

In conclusion, I firmly refute the statement that children-related advertisements should be allowed on televisions. This is because children cannot decide and buy anything, and because these advertisements are mostly untrue.