Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? "In twenty years there will be fewer cars on the road than there are today."

Means of transportation for human beings has been changing rapidly through history. While, in twenty year there may be fewer car on road than today in my country, but the world tell the different story. In my opinion, the usage of cars will increase in coming twenty year than today. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in following paragraphs.

First aspect to deserve a word is that the developing world is urbanizing, which means that more people ever embark on a daily commute to reach their workplace. In past, most people engage in subsidence labor near to their home. In contrast, today people are more like to live in urban areas. The apartment that they inhabitant are usually far from their work place, which necessitates daily commute. For instance, my grandpa owned and worked in a rice farm which is hardly five miles away from his home. Occasionally he traveled short distance using pack animal, but the most part lived his entire life within the radius of five mile. On the other hand, we like to live a better life so we shifted to urban place and used to drive regularly thirty miles a day. All of my co-workers doing the same practice, which is a pretty big changes compared to past. I cannot see any indication that this trend will halt in near future.

Second, income are raising all over the world, which means in near future automobiles will be are affordable for more people. Now, people in developing countries like India and China can also afford to take a car. On contrary, in the past, owning a car was a privilege for rich people only. Now every other person wishes to own a car to maintain his status in society. It's my personal experience, at the time I didn't own my car, but get to work by carpooling with neighbor. However, it was my dream of owning a vehicle of my own. While it make financial sense to me to continue carpooling or taking public transport, I viewed car own ship as a symbol of affluence.

In addition, the price of car’s getting cheaper day by day. Usage of latest technology by automobile industry accomplished them to manufacture a car with high technology in low prices. Therefore, car is more reachable to middle class people as well.

In a word, owing to the aforementioned reasonable causes and elucidations described in previous paragraph, it appears to be reasonable to draw a well founded conclusion that in near future there will be more cars on road than today. This is because the world is rapidly urbanizing and car is affordable to more people.