Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are all aware that it is challenging for administrators on how to spend the university budget in a way, which guarantees the best possible outcomes for both students and colleges. In my opinion, I believe that sports and social activities should take equal funding as libraries and academic facilities. I feel that way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, they are profitable activities that can generate revenue for universities. Most universities across the nation have a limited budget; nevertheless, they still have many responsibilities to build dormitories, classes, and academic facilities for new students. Athletics games enable colleges to overcome their financial crises in today's precarious economic time. For instance, my college pays significant attention to athletic activities and gets funds through corporates' sponsorship, broadcasting agreements, and ticket sale. Last semester, my college made an enormous profit from broadcasting the final game for our most popular soccer ball team. Consequently, the university used the profit money to construct a new chemistry laboratory and renovated the scientific library. If it were not for sports activities, my college would have never been able to build these facilities.

Secondly, they build relationships because we meet a lot of people who share common interests, and we can network, which can help us academically and even professionally. For instance, a few years ago, when I was in college, I participated in various on-campus social events, where all students and professors had fun by gathering and making acquaintances with each other. I developed friends from different fields on many social occasions like The Movie Day, End Of the year trip, and many other events. Whenever I needed help in any of my academic subjects, I could always find countless friends who were offering their assistance. Moreover, during my recent job interview, the boss was one of my colleagues who I met on one of those movie days, and I got the job. This experience taught me that extracurricular activities benefit students in a way that no books, classes, or libraries can replicate.

In conclusion, I believe that colleges should fund social and sports activities equally with academic facilities not only because those activities can generate money, but they are also valuable in building relationships.