TPO 29: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The quality of education is crucial because it determines the future of the current and coming generation. University professors are among numerous elements that contribute to the advancements of education. To what extent universities should spend on professors' salaries to promote educational quality has raised considerable controversy. I, undoubtedly, reckon that raising professors' income is most likely to uplift educational excellence for two reasons.

First, a satisfying income for professors guarantees that they devote themselves entirely to their students and academic research. In other words, when professors earn adequate money that commensurates with the precarious economic status nowadays, they will be able to focus on the level of education they provide. For instance, my husband is a professor at the American University of Egypt; he is secured and content with his salary. As a result, he works meticulously and diligently with his students to benefit from his precious knowledge. He is willing to dedicate all his time and effort to them. Therefore, his students get the highest quality possible academic attainment. Had his university paid him a low salary, the financial burden would have forced him to work in multiple universities with a tremendous workload; that distracts his attention away from students, meaning sacrificing the quality of education.

Another equally powerful reason that raising professors' salaries is an effective means of advancing educational quality is the higher likelihood of encouraging the most talented and genius students and scholars to be university professors. Nowadays, the numbers of Ph.D. holders who accept teaching positions are declining dramatically due to income-related issues. For example, my brother-in-law was a full professor at Alexandria University, yet he had a hardship covering his family expenses. Thus, it is no coincidence that my nephew and all his colleagues in the doctorate program who graduated with honor turned down all teaching offers in educational institutes because of the money issue. As you can see, students lose golden opportunities to benefit from professors with expertise and ingenuity, like my nephew and many others like him.

In conclusion, raising professors' salaries guarantees that professors work hard with their students and focus only on their students. Furthermore, It encourages young gifted scientists to have teaching positions as their career goals. For these two reasons and many more, I believe that universities should spend more on faculties teaching members to elevate the quality of education.