Ambitious dreams are better than realistic goals. Agree or disagree?

Ambition is the gate of our future to live a flourishing life. Some people believe it is better to have realistic goals rather than dream ambitious. In my opinion, I reckon that it is critically important to have ambitious plans for our future. I feel that way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, ambitious dreams provoke hope in a better future, which make life worth living and meaningful. To be more specific, sometimes people encounter unfortunate circumstances that turn their lives upside down, but only an enormous goal is what keeps them enthusiastic and motivated to overcome obstacles and disappointments. Take Stephen Hawking, for example, that talented and genius graduate student who got a rare disease that made him unable to move once he embarked on his Ph.D. However, he had a sizable ambition to create the astonishing The Theory For Everything, regarding his field of cosmology. Although all obstructions that associated his illness, he accomplished his doctoral degree with honor and had tremendous valuable research productions that amazed humanity. As you can see, the outstanding dream kept him incredibly productive full of hope and motivation.

Secondly, people whose dreams are realistic may end up wondering what they might have lost by giving up their big dreams and settled down for less. To illustrate, some individuals get scared of fierce competition and prefer to stay in their comfort zone, where they do the bare minimum to achieve real progress in their careers. For example, my best friend and I worked in a real estate firm for a few years. We could hardly afford to pay the rent and other bills for a middle-class family, which was an immensely annoying issue for us. Therefore, I asked him to join me as a freelancer and leave that limited-salary job, but he chose to adhere to stability with a fixed-income instead. Currently, I have a well-known real estate firm, and I own a spacious house with a pool while he still an employee in the same organization with the same standard of living. Frankly, he had been regretting his giving up the dream that we always shared.

In conclusion, I believe that people should go after their fabulous dreams, and not to confine themselves to realistic goals. Not only because of splendid objectives that give hope to a better tomorrow and rescue people from disappointment but also they make people never regret their lagging behind.