TPO 41: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are all aware that teachers play a critical role in educating people of all ages. Whereas some people think that people value teachers now more than ever, others disagree. I believe that people in our present time do not honor teachers the way they did in the past. I feel that way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, the unprecedented advancement in technology along with the advent of the internet has contributed to the availability of tremendous sources of education tools rather than teachers. For example, in the past, my father had to travel to England to have his degree in economics away from his family with the expensive cost of living in a foreign country. In contrast with the present time, my son is attending online certified courses over the internet that are held in the US without moving a bit away from Egypt. Not to mention, when he faces any problem comprehending any subject, he can watch as many as he wants youtube channels that will provide him with a comprehensive understanding without the need for any teachers. If it had not for the internet, learners would have valued educators as they have done in the past.

Second, teachers' career is not desirable anymore as in the past because teachers' wages are inferior to the other proficients. In other words, people do not consider teachers as successful people since most people consider a person's salary as a measure of success. For instance, in the past, educators had many sources to earn extra money by teaching in different schools and universities or providing tutoring to students, which enabled them to support a high-quality lifestyle. Currently, football players, TV entertainers, pharmacists, and many other jobs are more respectable and appealing to younger generations because of the uncertainty of the status quo of our present financial situation. As you can see, the low salary of teachers makes people don't give teachers the appreciation and gratitude that they deserve.

In conclusion, I believe that people in the past valued teachers more than now. It is not only because of the advent of technology that made the internet replaces teachers but also because of their low income of them that made their career the least preferable job.