Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of giving equal amount of financial support to sports and social activities as like as classes and libraries. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely give the equal support to sports and social activities with regards to classes and libraries. It is my firm belief that sports and social activities are very essential parts of our life for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, one of the reasons for my specific opinion is that sports and social activities give us new experience and help to take big responsibility in future life. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. I remember when I was in junior high school and I wanted to join the football team. I was small and had never played much football before, but I wanted to try. My father didn’t think I’d like football very much, but he said that if I wanted to do it, I could. After three months of football practice and riding the bench I ended up hating football. All the kids picked on me because of my size and I wasn’t very good at tackling or catching. Even though I hated everything about the football team, I was and still am grateful for the experience. If my father hadn’t let me try, I would have blamed him for the way things turned out. It was important for me to make the decision myself so I could take responsibility for my own choices and learn not to blame others.

Secondly, why I illustrate my specific opinion is that sports and social activities teach us how to take new risk in the future job life and give us experience how to perform risk able task. Because completing risk able job is a huge challenge for our life. It makes us stronger for the future life. Drawing from my own experience, When I think of risk, I immediately think of the stand-up comedy class I tried a few years ago. I’ve always admired comedians, but I was never brave enough to take the stage and try myself. For my birthday, my wife paid for me to take a stand-up comedy class. I was so nervous. The first time I took the stage I could hardly say a word. I wanted to quit, but my wife told me I’d regret it. I went back and tried again. I still wasn’t funny, but I lasted a couple minutes longer. By the end of the three-month class, I gave a ten-minute stand-up routine to a packed comedy club in midtown Manhattan. Putting myself on a stage in front of an audience was terrifying, but it made me a stronger person. If I had never taken the risk, I would still regret it today.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that sports and social activities must be given equal support. This is because these give us a new experience and help us to take a big responsibility in future life and teach us how to take a new risk in the future job life.