Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Together with the improvements in society, it seems evident that more people are trying to maintain their balance in life between their scholastic achievements and extracurricular pursuits. Thus, there is a controversial issue on whether sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and whether they should receive equal financial support at universities and colleges.

If forced to choose one over another, my stance is in line with the perspective that sports and social activities are important and should receive equal financial support. My rationale is founded upon the following scheme; with sports and social activities, people would not only be more sociable but also significantly improve their health.

First and foremost, people will vastly improve interpersonal skills through sports and social activities. This is because sports and various activities necessarily require students to work with one another, and in this process, they will learn how to communicate and cooperate effectively as a team. As time passes, more and more companies are requiring people to be not only specialists in their own fields, but also to be skilled in social interaction for cooperation. In fact, lots of companies consider social interaction abilities as one of the key qualities for successful group projects. Since sports and social activities provide students with the perfect setting for students to practice their social skills, the university ought to vest its utmost efforts to create the best suitable environment that balances academics and social activities. For instance, when my timid sister went to university, she took a basketball class to learn how to cooperate with others. By playing basketball with other students, she developed a sense of belonging and experience team spirit, something she was not able to acquire during her academic lectures. As a result, she got a job at a top advertising agency after just a few years since the interviewers recognized her social skills and collaboration skills. Had it not been for her basketball practices, she would not have been able to develop herself into such a sociable and capable person. It becomes clear with this example that sports and social activities are important and that therefore universities should support them as much as they support academics.

Another advantage of supporting sports and social activities is that students will build good health, helping them to study better in the end. Nowadays, many students are under great stress from experiencing fierce competition at school, which disturbs them from focusing and working hard. The best way for students to recover their exhausted mind and body is to play sports or participate in various activities. Engaging actively in social activities and playing sports will help students improve their mental health and physical health by relieving stress, which in turn will allow them to focus solely on their studies when they have to. In fact, there was a survey conducted by the Education Department at Harvard University which showed that more than 80 percent of students who played sports or did social activities had As on the exams while only 10 percent of students who just studied hard without any rest got As. The interviewees also responded by explaining that the betterment of their mental and physical health kept them engaged and that the results could not have happened if it were only for their studies. Such results clearly depict that sports and social activities are important as classes and libraries

All in all, each and every fact demonstrates my resolute standpoint that sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and that they should therefore receive equal financial support at universities and colleges. First, people could be more sociable, and second, they would improve their health through such activities. Therefore, nothing in my mind casts doubt on my stance regarding given statements.