Do you agree or disagree with the following statement At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

It is important to keep students socially engaged, and sports and activities are some of the methods used to fulfill this duty. Some people concur that these things are as significant as classes and libraries. However, I disagree with this notion and argue that keeping the quality of education high should be our first priority for two reasons, which I will develop in subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, we should clearly define the major aim of the universities and colleges. In my opinion, the most important mission is to give better education and prepare excellent people who can change the world. In order to be an expert in their field, they should possess soft skills along with hard skills. In contrast, a hundred years ago, there was almost no need to have soft skills. It was sufficient to be able to perform the technical aspects of the job.But, in today's modern world, having only hard skills is not sufficient. For this reason, universities try to push their students toward socializing. However, that does not mean they should devote most of their budget to building large sports areas or organizing high-cost events. For example, imagine a college that has a limited number of books in its library and obsolete machines in its laboratory but a perfect football arena and also sends its students on trips every week in order to socialize them. As a result, when these students graduate, they may have excellent communication and other soft skills, but they will lack the necessary abilities to complete the work.For this reason, the prime concern of universities and colleges should be delivering high-quality education.

Second of all, no one can deny that teachers play a big role in education. Thus, universities must pay attention to attracting well-educated experts for teaching subjects rather than arranging super-quality parties. Consider a university that holds basketball tournaments every month and pays out a lot of money to the winners.On the other side, it has experienced instructors who have low motivation for teaching because of their small wages. Instead of increasing their wages, the university continues to distribute its budget to students with the aim of increasing their motivation toward the game. Consequently, students may have great soft skills when they finish their education. However, with their little proficiency and limited knowledge about their field, It is easy to see why universities should prioritize education quality over sports or extracurricular activities.

To make a long story short, for the two reasons outlined above, I am of the opinion that classes and libraries should get the highest financial support.