Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities as they give to their university libraries.

The common aim of universities is to cultivate the all-rounded students. Some people tend to propose that universities should spend more money on libraries than on their students’ sports activities because learning knowledge is the main task of student and exercises are accessories of school life. While this idea seems reasonable, I still insist that sports activities are the same important as the textbooks so that universities should invest the equal money on those two parts.

The main argument for giving money to students’ sports activities is that doing so is responsible for students’ study and physical health. As a proverb goes that all works and no play make Jack a dull boy. In other words, having sports activities is only the way to keep students in good body conditions, but also a good choice for them to be relaxed. To be specific, students are always overwhelmed by their heavy school works which make them feel so tired. By doing some physical exercises, they can relax their bodies and release the pressures in the classroom. Staying in a good body condition is the fundamental of learning efficiently. Thus, universities should put the same emphasis on students’ sports activities and take their effort to develop students’ study and sport life together.

Another obvious benefit of bringing students’ sports activities to the same status of universities’ libraries is that having sports game is the way to cultivate students’ conscious of team spirits and life attitudes. When students attend sports games, they need to learn how to coordinate the relationship between a group and an individual and how to win the game by collaboration. Collaboration also teaches them to be altruistic people and cherish friendships. Therefore, students can learn a lot from sports activities which is not available in books. Spending as the same amount of money on sports programs as on libraries is worthy.

The last reason is that having a good sport team, such as football, helps to improve the reputation of a university. Students usually differentiate whether a college is good school by looking at its ranking in College Sports list. Take my personal experience as an example, I always take academic and sport ability of universities into account. Why I choose University of Southern California as my dream school is because the beautiful campus buildings and high quality faculties, especially its famous football team – USC Trojans football. It is unimaginable for a little girl, like me, is a big fun of football game. So, universities can attract more applicants by investing heavily in sport program.

In conclusion, it is worthy for universities to spend the same amount money on both students’ sports activities and their libraries. Spurring spending in sports not only benefits students body health and personality cultivation, but also increases universities’ reputations.