Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should give the same amount of money to their students' sports activities as they give to their university libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

I believe allocating money to sports activities and the libraries equally would not be a reasonable way of dividing university resources.

For one, universities are meant to improve academic capabilities of their students. Therefore, although sports affect learning indirectly as an auxiliary factor, they are not as effective as having a library which is dedicated to sudying and has a plethora of reading options. Also, equal spendings on sports and libraries would need to translate to roughly equal time spent by the student on sports and in libraries. Otherwise, the money would be wasted. This could in turn become a problem and cause distractions since sports would occupy a big part of students’ time.

Another reason I think it is not efficient for universities to spend the same amount of money on sports and libraries is that the equipment and locations for doing sports are usually easier to come by than helping books and peaceful well-equipped libraries. Besides, most students who would use the equipment provided by the university probably already do sports on their own time. I also believe that a library with a relaxing atmosphere would help students with their learning process and would in fact expedite it much more than any sports activity ever could.

The last point I would like to make is that while I believe most university resources must be focused on academic expenses, it does not mean that sports should be dismissed as an on-campus activity. Sports are a great way to improve health and as the saying goes, there can be no healthy mind without a healthy body. So, while I believe athletic activities and competitions must not take a big part of the university budget and students’ time, they should be strongly present on any competitive university.

All in all, I think that universities should stick with their main objective of improving their attendants’ academic capabilities and focus most of their resources on this topic but this does not mean sports must be disregarded completely.