Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I think that no ads on the television should be directed towards young kids. At the stage of life the young children are, the brain has not fully formed yet and they need a parent or guardian's help to complete even the simplest tasks. So, it would be inappropriate to make ads that target these children and try to make money by manipulating these innocent kids.

Young children are still in their physical and mental developement stage and that is why they are not allowed to do many things that adults can, like driving or drawing money from a bank account, and also need a parent or guardian present for doing some other things, like seeing a movie at the theatre. So, in my opinion, the same argument that led to putting some restrictions on the things kids can do also holds for companies and manufacturers that make products for kids. Companies should not be allowed to appeal to the kids directly and they should not be allowed to bypass the parents and go to the kids directly. They must go through the parents' filter, who, according to the law, are and will be the ones in charge of the kids until much later in their lives, and let them decide what is best for their kids.

Also, in addition to being a manipulative strategy, ads tailored specificly towards kids can become a burden to families and especially parents. A young child seeing a flashy ad on the TV, which will probably air during a kids' program, will almost definitely fall in love with the ad and want the product it is trying to sell. So, in case the parents do not see this product as being appropriate for their child and refuse to buy it for him or her, the kid's response can vary all the way from being upset from his or her parents to nagging and badgering them constantly until they give up and buy the product which they deemed inappropriate for their kid. Also, considering that their would be an aboundance of ads on TV, this could become a daily issue in the households with young kids.

All things considered, I think that the parents are the most reliable people when it comes to making decisions for their kids and making and airing ads targeted towards kids, which would eliminate the guardian role of the parents, will only benefit the companies and it will not be good for the kids or their parents and therefore should not be allowed.