Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People who are working on the same projects use different ways to communicate with each other. They need to talk about the details of the project to progress. In this vein, some people prefer to contact the teammate, either a classmate or a colleague, using online approaches like e-mail. However, others prefer to talk about the project in person. I, personally, believe that doing a project needs to have a face to face relationship with the coworker, for two conspicuous reasons which I will elaborate on them in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, communicate in person makes a sense of community in the group which is conducive to performing the project in a better way. When people are in touch only by e-mail they cannot socialize with each other very well because their conversation is just limited to the project. However, when people who are working on the same project and have the same goal talks face to face, can talk about other subjects and gradually their relationship turns to the friendship that it is beneficial for their progress. To be more specific, in such a situation, when they feel a sense of community in the group, put more effort and energy to do their best because they want to make their friends satisfied and show their commitments to them. Nevertheless, when two coworkers are strange, they do not care about each other and it is highly probable that they postpone their tasks or neglect their responsibilities.

Second, talking in person, people can exchange their idea and reach a compromise properly. If the ones who are doing a project want to communicate only through e-mail, they will deprive themselves of the chance of a productive discussion which can lead to removing all ambiguities and mistakes. Facilities like e-mail are adjusted for instant messaging, therefore they are not a suitable choice to do a project. In such a medium people cannot convey their notion and they are more likely to waste time and energy. To elucidate on, when my friend and I wanted to do a project, we had to use e-mail because she was far away from the university at that time. Every day we spent a great deal of time exchanging our idea and matching the results. It was demanding for both of us, and we gave up the project until she came back to the campus.

In conclusion, with the two mentioned reasons taking into account, I do believe that it is not a good idea to use the e-mail to accomplish a project. In this way, not only do not people get a sense of community in the group, but they also will be exhausted because it is difficult to do a project using instant messaging.