Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the idea that when making important decisions in a society, young people have no influence. There are three reasons to support my point of view, which will be explored in the following paragraphs.

First, the population of young people is so much fewer than that of old generations in a lot of developed countries. The gap of the population size is so great that we, young people, cannot have much power in a society. In Japan, my country, for example, we usually have an election once in a four years. However, the politicians who get elected are always the ones who have manifests that focus on elderly. This is because three fourths of eligible population is elderly who are over 60 years old. Even though all of the individual eligible young people votes, it is very challenging to have the result that young people expects. As a result, even in a democratic country, the population size of older people prevents us to have power in society.

Second, older people do not let young people replace them. It might be true that there should be well experienced old people in a company or society, but today, there are too many of them who do not let young people come in to their decision making. For instance, in a company that my father work, the administration are occupied by elders who are over 75 years old and there are long wait-list of people who wait for the heads of the company to pass away so that they can get the position. Because of this tradition, the company can never have young people to be in the important decisions in a company.

Thirdly, the young people's voices on social media do not affect the decisions at all. Some might say that we, young people, today, have social media to speak up. Of course, this makes movements within the young generation. However, most times, the society as a whole, does not listen to them. Even if we have the place to get together and make movement, the people who make big decisions are not affected by our voices on social media.

In conclusion, I profoundly believe that youngsters have almost no influence in making considerable decisions in society.